Whigs, The

Mission Control [Rock / Alternative]

RELEASE: 25.07.2008

LABEL: ATO Records

VERTRIEB: Soulfood


MySpace Amazon 

The Whigs are proud to announce the release of their ATO Records debut album, MISSION CONTROL. Set for a January 22, 2008 release, this confident collection of songs follows up the band’s self-released / self-financed album, GIVE ‘EM ALL A BIG FAT LIP, which caught the attention of many, including Rolling Stone Magazine who declared the Athens GA three-piece “the best unsigned band in America.” The Whigs spent most of 2006 and 2007 on the road winning over fans and critics with their full throttle alternative pop / rock which NPR hailed as a perfect combination of “the gravelly rock of The Replacements with the off-kilter pop of Guided By Voices.”

Eager to record their ATO debut, The Whigs entered the legendary Sunset Sound Studios in Los Angeles, CA with producer Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliott Smith). Sonically superior to anything the band has recorded to date, MISSION CONTROL is an album jam-packed with infectious melodies and dynamic rhythms.

The urgency of opening track “Like A Vibration” knocks over the listener with a roaring attack of guitars, while “Production City” combines a dancing bass line over machine gun tight rhythms. The catchy hook-laden “I Got Ideas” is an exuberant fusion of horns and Southern-rock twang, while “Sleep Sunshine” is an intimate piano-driven song showcasing the band’s reflective side with a lurching guitar solo. The thunderous pounding of drummer Julian Dorio is a staple throughout, but on the soon to be anthem "Right Hand on My Heart," Dorio’s playing makes it evident why Esquire Magazine named him "Drummer of the Year" in 2007.

(Quelle: ATO Records)


Rate this:
  (Ø 2.86)

Zurück zur Übersicht

Diese CD weiterempfehlen
Ihr NameIhre E-Mail
Name EmpfängerE-Mail Empfänger
Ihr Nachricht:
Spamschutz: (Summe von 6 + 4 in das Textfeld eintragen.)



Amesz, Rene
Little Mountain Rocks Vol. 1

Nom de Guerre
Love Thy Neighbour

Bizzy Montana
M.a.d.U. (Mukke aus der Unterschicht)

Burki, Eliana & iAlpinisti
Travellin’ Root

Benni Hemm Hemm

Fettes Brot
Strom Und Drang

© medienprojekt 2020 Impressum  Kontakt